Clean Air Force

Tax Matters
Click to View

Emission Requirements

Effective January 1, 2017, in Fulton County, passing vehicle emission inspections are required for 1993 through 2014 model year gasoline-powered cars and light-duty trucks (up to 8,500 lbs. gross vehicle weight rating).  Vehicle model years 2015 and newer model vehicles are currently exempt from inspection.  For complete information you may contact the Georgia Clean Air Force at 1.800.449.2471 or visit their website at www.cleanairforce.com.

1993-2014 model year vehicles that are newly acquired or recently moved into the county must have proof of passings inspection within the last 12 months and must be registered within 30 days (seven days if purchased from a non-registered dealer).

 

Possible Exceptions

  • Senior Exemption: The vehicle owner must be 65 years old or older, the vehicle must be 10 model years old or older (2006 model year or older), and the vehicle must be driven less than 5,000 miles per year. Seniors who have received an exemption in the past may be able to renew by phone at 1.800.449.2471.
  • Out-of-Area Extension:  Available for vehicle owners who meet all requirements (the requirements can be found at CleanAirForce.com); vehicle must be tested upon return to the area. Vehicles can be tested well in advance if the driver will be out of the area at the time of registration.
  • Repair Waiver:  Available if emission-related repairs meet or exceed the Repair Waiver limit amount; other qualifications based on vehicle model year apply.

If a vehicle does not pass emissions inspection, the registered owner should pay any ad valorem tax by the due date to avoid penalties.

A 30-day temporary registration will may be issued when the owner is unable to comply with emissions standards by the due date of the annual renewal. This provides the owner with additional time to have the vehicle repaired beyond the registration renewal due date.   

 

How Much Will the Inspection Cost

A test costs up to $25; for more details please visit www.CleanAirForce.com. Stations must post the texting fee on their official Georgia Clean Air Force sign.